How To Hire The Right Person – Make It A Game

28 02 2007

I admit this isn’t about mismanagement, but then this entire topic is about the do’s and dont’s of running a business… On to the epiphany…

I’ve just been given the job of getting my client’s entire HR process under control. That’s one of the drawbacks of being a “jack-of-all-trades” consultant. People know that you can do more than just one thing. So, I’ve been going over the whole thing from start to finish, from CV reviewing to interview scheduling, evaluating candidates on the phone, the actual interview and the finalization process.

And I just cant help but think, “There has to be a better way to find the right candidate…” which brings me to this article I found on another wordpress blog, about an interesting interview process. The candidates are grouped in small teams and asked to solve a problem within a set time period. What I like about this is that it not only tests the candidates knowledge but their ability to communicate and work as part of team. Its the best way to weed through candidates to identify the right attitudes and skillsets. Gotta figure out a way to incorporate this into my client’s workflow.

The full article is >> here.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

